Fiberglass

Over the years I have worked with fiberglass many times but this was the biggest job I have done yet. In my early 20s I was into building car stereo systems for competitions and I used fiberglass to reinforce sub woofer boxes or to build custom stereo or speaker mounts. I mostly did this for friends, and got paid in beer. I’ve also built a few small things here and there and I use fiberglass in my mold making process when making molds for PUR. This, this was something else, something much bigger. I started last weekend covering the nose of the camper and then started on the underside this weekend.

It’s not difficult to glass something but it is tedious and time consuming. I spent two 10 hour days prepping and glassing over the weekend and still didn’t finish but I got it done over the next week working on it after work. I wanted to have a strong nose in case I hit a rock or a bird. I also coated the entire underside for water proofing. Even though I used treated plywood I figured it would just be better to seal it up. I considered coating the entire camper but I’m not going to, I’ve already bought my side panels and roofing materia, besides the fiberglass isn’t all that pretty.

img_4211

To work on the bottom side I had to stand it up. I wanted to pull it inside the shop while it was raining but it was too tall. It really only sprinkled a little bit here and there over the weekend so it didn’t really slow progress all that much.

I then laid it back down and did a little sanding. I just took down the high spots and sharp spots I didn’t sand it smooth.

img_4239

 

 

In all my years working with fiberglass I’ve never gotten it on me or ruined any clothing, until now. I destroyed a pair of Kuhl Radikl’s and an Access Fund shirt, small price to pay a guess.

img_4231

Leave a Reply

